24 snows

2016
Documental
Konkurs
Special prize


Russia, 2014, 90 min. Director Mikhail Barynin.

GRAND PRIX, YOUTH JURY AWARD OF XV BAIKAL INTERNATIONAL FESTIVAL OF DOCUMENTARY AND POPULAR-SCIENCE FILMS “PEOPLE AND ENVIRONMENT” N.A. V. RASPUTIN IN 2016, SPECIAL AWARD OF LIMNOLOGICAL INSTITUTE OF SIBERIAN BRANCH OF RUSSIAN ACADEMY OF SCIENCE.

The unbearable climate of the Arctic part of Yakutia. Permafrost. For the greater part of the year the temperature keeps below zero and the ground is always cold.In winter, the temperature drops to minus 65 degreesCelsius. There is no telecommunication and electricity here, and lack of roads makes it hard to travel from one point to another. Life in such conditions means a daily battle with forces of nature and with yourself. Hundreds of kilometers away from the nearest settlement, a person can rely only on himself. This severe land attracts people who are looking for freedom and independence. This film is about a horse-breeder who spends most part of the year in tundra, looking after the herd. Feeling a stranger in his own house, Sergey is losing the connection with his family and missing the chance to see how his children are growing up. With each year, Sergey spends more and more time away from the village, meeting his family just a few times a year as he comes for the horse-breeders’ feast and brings homemeat. Exhausting life in the North makes a man face one of the hardest questions: who he really is.

Mikhail Barynin graduated from the Moscow International Film School and the directing faculty of the Gerasimov Institute of Cinematography (class of S. Miroshnichenko). Director of such documentaries as “The other land” (2009), “Maiman race” (2012) and “Tuva. Independent people” (2013).

24 СНЕГА

2016
Документальный
Конкурсная


Россия, 2014 г., 90 мин. Режиссёр Михаил Барынин.

Гран-при, приз Молодёжного жюри XV Байкальского международного фестиваля документальных и научно-популярных фильмов «Человек и природа» им. В. Г. Распутина в 2016 г. Специальный приз Лимнологического института Сибирского отделения РАН за научный подход в изучении жизни.

Невыносимый климат арктической части Якутии. Вечная мерзлота. Большую часть года здесь отрицательная температура и всегда холодная земля. Зимой температура достигает 65 градусов ниже нуля. Здесь нет телефонной связи и электричества. А отсутствие дорог усложняет передвижение. Жизнь в таких условиях связана с ежедневной борьбой со стихией и самим собой. В сотнях километрах от ближайшего населенного пункта, человек может рассчитывать только сам на себя. Этот суровый край притягивает людей, ищущих свободу и независимость. Наш герой — коневод, большую часть года живет в тундре, ухаживая за табуном. Чувствуя себя чужаком в родном доме, Сергей практически теряет связь с семьей, не видя, как растут его дети. С каждым годом Сергей все больше и больше времени проводит далеко от деревни, встречаясь с семьей лишь несколько раз в году на празднике коневодов, когда привозит добычу домой. Изнуряющий быт Севера ставит человека перед самым тяжелым выбором — кто он на самом деле.

Михаил Барынин окончил Московскую международную киношколу и режиссёрский факультет ВГИК (мастерская С.Мирошниченко). Режиссёр документальных фильмов «Другая Земля» (2009),  «Майманы» (2012), «Тува. Свободные люди» (2013).